NaNoWriMo

National Novel Writing Month.

AKA NaNoWriMo.

Every November writers from all over the world sign up to try and write 50,000 words a month.

I always say I’m going to sign up but never do. This year is no exception but I have a valid reason. I have been working on the same fanfiction story for, according to my personal instagram, around 39 weeks and I want it gone. It’s coming up to Christmas and I want to put away this fic to work on my Christmas themed fic that I started last and had to abandon because the season passed.

However, this year I decided to follow the general rules of the programme.

50,000 words over thirty days = 1667 words per day which is less than I do now.

Then you might think, if I write more than that now why do I need to follow this at all.

The answer is this – when I write I write a lot at once, so I might write 10,000 words in one day but then I won’t touch it again for a few, and then other things get in the way on days when I otherwise would be writing such as cleaning or appointments or depression.

So far, I’ve written a year’s worth of material in (almost) a year. A month per (almost a) month. But, in the story, I am in November 2015 and I need to get to June/July 2016 and I do not want to be still working on this story in June of 2016.

And that’s why I’ve taken up NaNoWriMo, or at least their rules. So far, I’ve gone over each day so hopefully I’ll finish this before the end of November, or at least be close. That way I can finish my Christmas story and hopefully start work on one of my books in the new year. That’s if I don’t get distracted by a certain BBC drama series when they launch series four.

Which I will.

For those of you interested, here is the link to NaNoWriMo and good luck!

Leave a Reply

